Chapter History

The Theta Omicron chapter of Zeta Tau Alpha was installed at Baylor on December 3, 1977. It is the 178th link chapter of Zeta Tau Alpha, represented by a silver link at National Office.

In 1977, the four founding members of the Theta Omicron chapter transferred to Baylor from Centenary College in Louisiana. In the fall of 1977, the University of Texas' Kappa chapter helped recruit the charter pledge class of upperclassmen women at Baylor which was the largest pledge class ever at Baylor. In the spring of 1978, Theta Omicron took its Alpha pledge class, followed by its Beta pledge class in the fall of 1978. Theta Omicron was the first Greek organization chartered at Baylor that was independent of affiliation with any pre-existing local organization. In its first few years, Theta Omicron established traditions such as Neewollah and Bar-B-Cupid which are still held today. Two years after our colonization, ZTA participated in All-University Sing! which you can learn more about under the Activities tab. In 1981, two years after our first act's debut, we were selected for Pigskin Revue, a cherished Homecoming tradition.

As Zeta continues to participate in each of these today, our traditions just keep on compiling! We have both a semi-formal and a formal annually, host Welcome Back Bash at the start of each new school year, and hold a Crown Crush event in the spring. Recently, Zeta has also been involved in campus competitions such as Stompfest, Baylor Beauties, and more! In the Spring of 2023, we took a pledge class of 110 new members, who we are confident will continue to grow the sisterhood of Baylor Zeta! We love our chapter's rich past and look forward to the future!



Currently, Theta Omicron is honored to have one of the highest GPAs of all Texas ZTA chapters!

Crown Chapter 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 2013, 2014, 2018, 2023

Quota/Total Award 2013

Merit Award 1988

Academic Achievement 1987, 1988, 2012, 2018

Continuing Excellence Award 1989

Best Scholarship in Texas 1990

Helen Margaret Harrison Award 1990

Best ZTA Chapter in the Nation 1990, 1991, & 1992

Herbert H. Reynolds Chapter of the Year 2018

Outstanding Sisterhood Award 2023

The Crown Chapter Award recognizes overall chapter excellence. It includes finances, areas of membership, and activities of members. It was established in 1983.

*Still compiling data

Connect with Us

Connect with HQ